Our Sponsors

Northern Powergrid logo


Climate KIC logo

Media Partner

New Power logo

Infrastructure, Industry and Innovation: the UK’s Energy Future


Date: Wednesday 5th July 2017

Time: 13.00 – 18.00
Venue: Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, 12 Great George Street

Established almost 30 years ago, PRASEG, the All-Party Parliamentary Renewable and Sustainable Energy Group, is the cross party group for UK politicians and senior industry stakeholders that exists to promote sustainable energy issues in Parliament and the wider political community.

This year’s PRASEG Conference will focus on the UK’s need to drive future investment in new energy infrastructure and the opportunities for industry arising from a just transition to a low carbon energy system.

The UK is already home to significant business expertise in delivering clean energy projects, including skills across the design, engineering, finance, insurance, legal and manufacturing sectors. In addition, the Government has stated its ambition for the UK to move to a smarter energy system over the next decade, which is already providing opportunities for a range of new industries to come forward from smart meters to energy storage, local generation and supply, EVs and Demand Side Response.

The Government’s vision to providing a more secure, clean and low cost energy system at home has the potential to provide new opportunities to export this UK expertise globally, creating new jobs and growing supply chains. To achieve this, Government needs to set out its plans for a clean energy system at the heart of its Industrial Strategy and post Brexit priorities. There is also a challenge to ensure a just transition for workers as we shift from a high carbon to a low carbon industrial base. In light of Brexit negotiations, and the Government’s Emissions Reduction Plan and Industrial Strategy, we invite key decision makers and leading experts to explore the next steps for UK energy policy.

Draft Agenda

13.00 Registration- Tea, Coffee, Biscuits, Exhibition

13.30 Welcome from Matthew Pennycook MP, PRASEG Chair

13.35 Opening speech from Rhian Kelly, Director for Infrastructure, CBI

14.00 Session 1: Sustainable energy as a national infrastructure priority

Energy is a vital component of UK infrastructure, equal in importance to transport, housing and broadband. At the heart of any industrial strategy fit for the future must be a focus on a sustainable, smart and clean energy system. Furthermore in order to meet the UK’s climate change targets, emissions reduction in buildings, power and transport need to accelerate rapidly in the 2020s and 2030s. This session will look at why sustainable energy and “clean growth” must be at the core of the Government’s Industrial Strategy, and how government and industry can progress towards this goal.

15.00 Session 2: A low carbon industrial revolution

Industrial strategy has workforce at its heart and a just transition to a low carbon economy is needed to ensure a policy that works for people and planet. This session will reflect on how the transition to a low carbon economy can ensure jobs, supply chain and skills opportunities for UK workers and make the most of the UK’s significant manufacturing and engineering expertise.

16.00 Refreshment break and exhibition

16.30 Session 3: UK leadership in energy innovation

This session will focus on the UK’s role as an innovation leader in design and manufacture of energy technologies and systems, looking at exciting new developments across the sector. We will address how best to encourage development of these technologies and create a level playing field for new innovative technologies in the UK energy market.

17.30 Keynote address

17.55 Closing remarks and thanks from Matthew Pennycook MP, PRASEG Chair


There are a range of sponsorship opportunities available for the Conference. Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

View photos from last year's conference

Book Tickets Now

27534320524 271dacc259 z

28149957485 b8bef783f5 z

27534354644 8fcd42fb08 z

28115367486 1df22359ef z

28071519881 c1a50a8fbc z